Latest releases

Atlantic Soul Legends – The Ultimate 20 CDs soul boxset !

Launched by Ahmet Ertegun and Herb Abramson in 1947, the legendary Atlantic Records label played an integral role in the golden age of soul music. The Atlantic Soul Legends 20-CDs boxset gathers for the very first time 20 original albums recorded beetween 1959 and 1975, including Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Otis Redding, Wilson Pickett and Solomon Burke‘s masterpieces, the classic Stax/Volt recordings by Booker T. & The M.G.’s, Rufus Thomas, Sam and Dave, Eddie Floyd and Ben E. King, Percy Sledge, Don Covay and Donny Hathaway’s legendary LPs.

More than a classic anthology, the Atlantic Soul Legends boxset sheds a new light on more than 200 cult recordings by relocating them in their original album configuration. The Atlantic Soul Legends boxset also includes several rare, deleted or unreleased albums on CD format such as Clarence Wheeler and The Enforcers’s Doin’ What We Wanna (1971) and the masterful The Show Must Go On, Sam Dees’s long-lost gem released in 1975, available on CD for the very first time.

Join the Atlantic Records legend starting 1/10/2012 !

Atlantic Soul Legends-20 original albums from the iconic Atlantic label (Rhino France/Warner).

CD Tracklisting

1. Ray Charles What I’d Say (1959)
2. Booker T. & The MG’s Green Onions (1962)
3. Ben E. King Don’t Play That Song (1962)
4. Solomon Burke If You Need Me (1963)
5. Rufus Thomas Walking the Dog (1964)
6. The Drifters Under the Boardwalk (1964)
7. Don Covay & The Goodtimers Mercy ! (1964)
8. Otis Redding Otis Blue/Otis Redding Sings Soul (1965)
9. Wilson Pickett In the Midnight Hour (1965)
10. Percy Sledge When a Man Loves a Woman (1966)
11. Sam and Dave Hold On, I’m Comin’ (1966)
12. Bar-Kays Soul Finger (1967)
13. Eddie Floyd Knock On Wood (1967)
14. Arthur Conley Sweet Soul Music (1967)
15. William Bell The Soul of a Bell (1967)
16. Aretha Franklin Lady Soul (1968)
17. Donny Hathaway Everything is Everything (1970)
18. Clarence Wheeler & The Enforcers Doin’ What We Wanna (1970)
19. Howard Tate Howard Tate (1972)
20. Sam Dees The Show Must Go On (1975)

Additional info

• The Atlantic Soul Legends boxset includes 20 CDs in vinyl replica format using the original vinyl artworks adapted for the CD format. The best existing masters have been used for the CD reissues included in this box set.

• The 20-Cds boxset contains 219 tracks, including timeless Atlantic Records hits such as : « What I’d Say » (Ray Charles), « Green Onions » (Booker T. & The MG’s), « Stand By Me » (Ben E. King), « Walking The Dog » (Rufus Thomas), « Under The Boardwalk » (The Drifters), « I’ve Been Loving You Too Long » (Otis Redding), « In The Midnight Hour » (Wilson Pickett), « When A Man Loves A Woman » (Percy Sledge), « Hold On, I’m Comin’ » (Sam and Dave), « Knock On Wood » Eddie Floyd), « Sweet Soul Music » (Arthur Conley), « (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman », (Aretha Franklin)…

• 32-pages extensive booklet + liner notes by Christophe Geudin (Funk-U Magazine editor in chief) including exclusive interviews with Booker T. Jones, Solomon Burke, Isaac Hayes and Sam Moore.

Facebook page
Order Atlantic Soul Legends